that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

National Cupcake Week 2010

Posted by culinaryneophyte on September 15, 2010

No one informed me until today that this week (Sept. 13-19) is National Cupcake Week. To celebrate, I’ll be baking a batch of cupcakes Thursday night (TBD variety), but in the meantime, I wanted to get up a post about some delicious cupcakes I baked up a few weeks ago: Fluffer-Oreo Cupcakes, courtesy of Picky Palate — one of my new favorite food blogs.

These were the most involved cupcakes I’ve made to date, but that’s not really saying too much, considering I’ve only ever made Funfetti‘ cupcakes out of a box. (Then again, Funfetti is always a crowd pleaser…). I dubbed myself The Cupcake Fairy after I made these, as I brought a dozen to the office, a bunch to a barbecue and had a handful of visitors pop over for a taste. The overwhelming response? Success!

For more photos, click here!

A full Oreo inside!

For cakes:
♦1 box yellow cake mix
♦1/2 c. water
♦1/2 c. canola oil
♦4 eggs
♦1 box vanilla instant pudding
♦4 oz. softened cream cheese (non-fat works!)
♦1 package Oreo cookies
♦1 c. marshmallow cream (half for batter, half for layers)

For cream cheese icing:
♦8 oz. softened cream cheese (non-fat works here, too!)
♦1 stick softened butter
♦3 c. powdered sugar

Beat cake mix, water, oil, eggs, pudding mix, cream cheese, five crushed Oreos and 1/2 cup marshmallow cream with a stand-up mixer until well combined (about 1 minute).

In lined cupcake tin, drop about 2 tablespoons of batter into each cup. Press one Oreo into each cup, plop on a dollop of marshmallow cream and add 2 more tablespoons of batter to fill the cup about 3/4 of the way.

Bake for 25-27 minutes at 350 degrees. Tops should be golden brown. Let cakes cool completely before frosting. Use remaining Oreos (crumbled) to top. Yields 24 large cupcakes.

FROSTING: Place cream cheese and butter in mixer and beat until well combined. Slowly add in powdered sugar until frosting is desired consistency. (For this recipe, the cupcakes were so sweet that I used less sugar in the frosting to avoid my friends’  teeth falling out of their heads.)

Total time? 75-ish minutes (including frosting-making).
Cost? On the cheaper side: $1 cake mix, $1 cream cheese, Oreos on sale for $1.99, generic brand instant vanilla pudding for 79¢, marshmallow cream for about $2, powdered sugar about $2.
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out of 10. People loved these things; I just wished I had invested in a nice icing piper to make them look stellar.

More photos!

5 Responses to “National Cupcake Week 2010”

  1. Rachel said

    I’m definitely going to try and make these!

  2. [...] submissions — i.e. something I’d made before — so I opted for Fluffer-Oreo and Vanilla Chai. It was also important to me to give them a strong variety, so I felt the third [...]

  3. [...] I uncharacteristically took a shortcut here and used store-bought icing (I was making these for a birthday gathering, and really didn’t have a lot of time to spare), but I encourage you to make your own. For buttercream, try this one sans the spices; for cream cheese, try this one. [...]

  4. Reblogged this on that's forking good and commented:

    Did you know today is Oreo’s 100th birthday? http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505263_162-57391325/oreo-cookie-turns-100-years-old/

    The first of America’s favorite sandwich cookie was eaten March 6, 1912 in Hoboken, N.J. Damn you’re old, Oreo, but we still love you all the same.

    Check out my favorite Oreo-laden cupcake!

  5. [...] centenarian! Everyone should probably celebrate Oreo’s big day by making a batch of the best Oreo-laden cupcakes on the planet. A full Oreo inside! Share:EmailFacebookTwitterStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]

Thoughts?

 
