that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

two-pump chunk

Posted by culinaryneophyte on October 28, 2010

I’m pretty disappointed with the fact that we’re 28 days into October and I’ve yet to post about my favorite autumnal mainstay: pumpkin. I love pumpkin-based recipes — except traditional pumpkin pie. Blame my strange taste, but I despise pumpkin pie (and, subsequently, anyone who offers it as the sole dessert at holiday dinners). All other pumpkin progenies, though? Yes, please!

My friend Rachel’s birthday is this weekend, and when she first learned of my culinary adventures, she asked if I’d make her pumpkin cupcakes. Unfortunately, the timing wasn’t right, but I did manage to make her a batch of these double pumpkin kissed chocolate chunk cookies I first saw on Picky Palate.

What gives the cookie its “double” moniker is a pumpkin base along with bits of the ever-elusive Pumpkin Spice Hershey’s Kisses. If you’ve never heard of/had these things, trust me when I say they’re amazing; and if you know of them, but can’t find them, one word: Target. Don’t even bother looking anywhere else because they won’t have ‘em.

I grabbed two bags even though I halved the recipe, which calls for one bag (about 35 kisses), but don’t fear: I’ll use the leftovers in a TBA recipe. Even split in half, this recipe yielded 28 medium-sized cookies. I’ll post the full recipe because halving this forced me to divide fractions in two, and that gave me a headache. Guess I shouldn’t have complained about how irrelevant to my future that math lesson 10 years ago was…

One other word of advice: If you don’t plan on going pumpkin crazy in your upcoming baking forays, go with the small can of pumpkin puree. This recipe needs only one cup of the stuff, and I’ve got enough left over in my gigantic can to last me 26+ rounds (not that I’m upset about that or anything — just prepare yourselves for many more pumpkin-centric recipes).

2 sticks softened butter
1 c. granulated sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tbl. vanilla
1 c. pumpkin purée
3 1/4 c. flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
12 oz. chocolate chunks or chips
35 (approx.) Pumpkin Spice Hershey’s Kisses, quartered

Cream butter and sugars until fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla until well combined, then add pumpkin. Mix flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg in a separate bowl. Slowly add wet ingredients, then chocolate, then Kisses. Scoop dough into balls on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees, or until edges are light brown. Allow to cool before removing.

Total time? 25 minutes prep, 12-14 minutes baking.
Cost? $2.69 for bag of Pumpkin Spice Hershey Kisses, $2.19 for can of pumpkin purée, $2.29 for chocolate chips.
Overall success relative to expectations? 8 out of 10. The end product has a light, cake consistency. When I took a bite of a fresh-out-of-the-oven cookie, I was disappointed at how overwhelming the chocolate was; however, after they cooled off and I gave them another try, the pumpkin flavor really came through and each bite that had a Hershey Kiss bit in it was doubly as good. Wish I had made the full recipe! Nothing else I’ve made has flown off the plate as quickly as these; I brought a bunch into work and they were gone before lunch (though we’re pretty sure the grubby ad reps in our office got to them first, grrr).

P.S. I steered clear of pumpkin puns throughout this post, but on the last “pumpkin,” I accidentally hit “n” instead of “m,” which made me giggle uncontrollably at how desperate to be corny my brain actually is.

5 Responses to “two-pump chunk”

  1. Steve said

    These look incredible! Hopefully I’ll get a sample!

  2. Tricia said

    These sound delicious! I need to come to NJ more to taste your creations. I’m surprised you don’t like pie! Me oh my!

  3. Stephanie P said

    Haha! I blame the ad reps! These were fab though, and I would make them an autumnal mainstay (that has serious staying power through Christmas time).

  4. These were great, pumpkin is an incredible flavor/spice. A+++

Thoughts?

 
