that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

cupcakes fit for the champs

Posted by culinaryneophyte on February 8, 2012

2012

The Super Bowl is the Thanksgiving of the sports world: At the heart is a celebration of an American tradition, but most people are just there for the food.

2008

As I mentioned in my last post, I was a little overzealous in the kitchen this weekend because I was not only cooking for a big group of people, but also super pumped for the game itself: a rematch of the greatest Super Bowl played since I’ve been alive, and maybe of all time. I get chills whenever I think about Super Bowl XLII — the Giants’ final drive, Eli’s Houdini-like escape, David Tyree’s epic helmet-catch, ruining the Patriots’ 19-0 dreams. Pure magic.

I was nervous for this year’s game all weekend, and the best way to take my mind off of it was to bake. I already showed you the Giants sugar cookies I made earlier in the week, and when I saw strawberries on sale, I decided to make festive chocolate-covered strawberry footballs. The stars of the show, though, were these chocolate chip cookie-bottom vanilla cupcakes, which I first saw on how sweet eat is. I wanted to take it a step further and add some Giants colors in there to support Big Blue. (That’s probably why they won.)

Note: The lighting in my house is awful, and my snarky friend Scott pointed out on Facebook that they look more like Broncos cupcakes than Giants. He said, “You should probably fix that before you put it on Pinterest” (mocking his girlfriend’s new obsession that I may or may not have introduced her to). The good news is that the New York Giants seemed to think the colors were suitable, because I received a notification on Twitter saying they had chosen my photo to publish on their website! In any event, they were clearly blue and red in person, so… yeah.

slightly adapted from how sweet eat is
COOKIE LAYER
1/2 c. butter, room temperature
3/4 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1-1/3 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 c. chocolate chips

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in bowl. In stand mixer, beat butter and sugar until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla, and beat
on medium. Slowly add dry ingredients, and mix on low until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Spray each cupcake liner with a spritz of cooking spray and spoon in about 1 tablespoon of cookie mix. Press down evenly with spoon. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and prepare cake mix.

CUPCAKE LAYER
1/2 c. butter, room temperature
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tbs. vanilla extract
1-1/2 c. flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1/3 c. milk 

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. After a quick clean of the mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat. Add 1/3 dry ingredients and 1/2 the milk, and mix on low. Alternate dry and milk until all ingredients are just combined. Scoop cake mix into each liner until 2/3 full. Bake for 17-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out cleanly. Makes 18 cupcakes.

FROSTING
For buttercream frosting, use this recipe (sans the chai spices). You might want to make a double batch, because I didn’t have enough and needed to use a little bit of Pilsbury vanilla frosting for my white component. To make the swirled effect, separate frosting in proportionate amounts into separate bowls, and add food coloring. (FYI: Wilton food coloring is much more effective than what I used for the sugar cookies because this blue color was perfectly royal.) Place in a piping bag in stripes, and push through even if it gets messy.

Total time? 35 minutes prep, 20 minutes bake. (You’re basically making two desserts.)
Cost? Nothing out of the norm here — just nominal baking supply costs.
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out 10. I was a little concerned having cookie involved could dry out the cupcake portion, but these were surprisingly moist. (They don’t stay that way longer than a day or two, but you probably won’t have many leftover anyway.) The only complaint — if you could even call it that — is that the chocolate chip cookie portion was slightly overwhelming in a few of the treats and took it more in a cookie-cake direction. Again, that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but that’s why I decreased the cookie measurement. These are a little time consuming, but definitely worth it. Sooo good! (And of course: Congratulations to the New York Giants on their Super Bowl XLVI win! Déjà BLUE all over again!)

One Response to “cupcakes fit for the champs”

  1. Goodness!I’m beginning to get hungry!

Thoughts?

 
