that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

last meals?

Posted by culinaryneophyte on April 26, 2012

I’d been itching to take the “100 Foods to Eat Before You Die” quiz since it hit Facebook, like, two months ago. (Yeah, I’m a little late to the game.) The biggest holdup was really that I was too lazy to hit “allow” when Facebook asked me if I wanted to grant the app access to my profile.

I finally completed the quiz tonight, and boy was it a fun 75 seconds! The draw is they tell you most people have tried 20 or fewer of the somewhat obscure dishes on the list. Reading that, I was thrilled when my score of 48 appeared; but when I compared myself with my Facebook friends who had also taken the quiz, I was disappointed to see myself in 23th place (and only a few spots above “average user”). Now, far be if to for me to judge, but I know some of these people don’t have the most refined tastes, so I’m guessing they racked up their points with Frito Pie, Hostess and Philly cheesesteaks. Or they’re lying. Or maybe I don’t know them well enough and should be asking them to dinner instead of baselessly condemning them. Whatever the case may be, I’ve got some eatin’ to do.

Where do you rank? I was a little disappointed swordfish, duck, lamb and boar (some of my more adventurous meals) aren’t on here. Anything else you think someone must eat before they die?

Abalone
Absinthe
Alligator
Baba Ghanoush (Wedding Crashers?)
Bagel and lox
Baklava
Barbecue ribs
Bellini
Bird’s Nest Soup
Biscuits and gravy
Black Pudding (Just because it says ‘pudding’ does not mean it’s appetizing. Google it.)
Black Truffle
Borscht
Calamari
Carp
Caviar
Cheese fondue
Chicken and waffles
Chicken Tikka Masala (Does chicken marsala count?)
Chile Relleno
Chitterlings/Chitlins (Mmm, intestines)
Churros
Clam Chowder
Cognac
Crabcake
Crickets (*This* will prevent me from ever reaching 100.)
Currywurst
Dandelion wine
Dulce de leche
Durian
Eel
Eggs benedict
Fish Tacos
Foie Gras
Fresh Spring Rolls
Fried Catfish
Fried Green Tomatoes
Fried Plaintain
Frito Pie (Surprisingly, no.)
Frog’s Legs
Fugu
Funnel Cake
Gazpacho
Goat
Goat’s milk
Goulash
Gumbo
Haggis
Head Cheese (How can they call this cheese? It’s not cheese!)
Heirloom Tomatoes
Honeycomb
Hostess Fruit Pie
Huevos Rancheros
Jerk Chicken
Kangaroo
Key Lime Pie
Kobe Beef
Lassi
Lobster
Mimosa
MoonPie
Morel Mushrooms
Nettle Tea
Octopus
Oxtail Soup
Paella
Paneer
Pastrami on Rye
Pavlova
Phaal
Philly Cheesesteak
Pho
Pineapple and cottage cheese (Never even had cottage cheese before.)
Pistachio Ice Cream
Po’ boy
Pocky
Polenta
Prickly Pear
Rabbit Stew
Raw Oysters
Root Beer Float
S’mores
Sauerkraut
Sea Urchin
Shark
Snail
Snake
Soft Shell Crab
Som Tam
Spaetzle
Spam
Squirrel (Katniss?)
Steak Tartare
Sweet Potato Fries
Sweetbreads (How can something called “sweet” “breads” be so unappetizing?)
Tom Yum
Umeboshi
Venison
Wasabi Peas
Zucchini Flowers

Thoughts?

 
