that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

prosciutto flatbread

Posted by culinaryneophyte on July 5, 2012

If you read my last entry, you know how hectic my recent party planning was — particularly the menu. When you bribe your friends with food, they have high expectations. I made spinach bites, pepperoni puffs, crab-stuffed cucumber cups, a few tasty dips, etc. I still felt like it wasn’t going to be enough, so at the last minute, I called an audible and threw together these cheater prosciutto flatbreads.

When I Googled “party flatbreads” the day of the party, I found all sorts of fancy recipes that involved making your own bread. Yeah… Maybe next time. Instead I took a bunch of shortcuts and still ended up with something I considered relatively fancy.

♦Pocketless pitas
Shredded mozzarella cheese (obviously fresh mozz is preferable, but if you’re in a pinch…)
1/4 lb. prosciutto
Arugula
Balsamic vinegar
Olive oil
Cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay out pitas on tin foil. Drizzle with olive oil. Top with mozzarella cheese and bake about 10 minutes or until crust is golden and cheese is melted. Add handful of arugula, then spread prosciutto evenly. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and top with black pepper. Use a pizza slicer to cut and serve.

Total time? 15 minutes.
Cost? $3 prosciutto, $2 shredded mozzarella cheese, $4 balsamic vinegar, $2 arugula
Overall success relative to expectations? 8 out of 10. I am in love with these flavors, and these flatbreads would hands down be 10 out of 10 if I had fresh mozzarella on hand. Still, these were really easy to put together in a hurry, and fed aplenty (whether necessarily or not).

Thoughts?

 
