that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

strawberry beer lemonade

Posted by culinaryneophyte on July 18, 2012

Some of my friends will drive across states to visit a brewery. They’re talking about hops, malt, IPAs… I have no idea what they’re talking about, and often when they give me a taste of whatever beer they’re drinking, I crinkle my nose and act like someone’s given me ipecac. Sometimes it’s lonely on the outside looking in, but I just don’t get beer. Don’t get it.

All that being said, I recently came across an interesting photo on Pinterest: strawberry beer lemonade. It’s one of those things you tell people about and they say, “That sounds…interesting…,” but I was intrigued and determined to show my beer snob friends something they’ve never seen before.

I set out for the liquor store — ready to find some beer for this little summer spirit. And then I spent about 25 minutes pacing in front of the beer fridges, trying to figure out what I should be buying. I must have taken out and put back five different cases before I turned around and realized there were all sorts of room temperature craft beers (maybe? I’m not sure what the difference was) on the shelves behind me. More wandering. More squinting. Three different employees asked me if I needed help.

And then I saw it: Samuel Smith’s Organic Strawberry Fruit Beer. Bingo. If you wanted a different type of lemonade, Samuel Smith’s also sells Cherry and Raspberry Fruit Beer (and I will most definitely be trying those out).

♦1-1/2 c. fresh strawberries, hulled
1/2 c. sugar
3/4 c. fresh squeezed lemon juice (about four lemons)
1 bottle of Samuel Smith’s Organic Strawberry Fruit Beer (18.7-oz. “Victorian” pint)

Squeeze lemon juice into pitcher. Add strawberries and sugar, and let steep for 10 minutes. Slowly add beer and stir. Serve over ice. Best served immediately, but will keep for a few days.

Total time? 20 minutes (10 to hull, chop, squeeze; 10 to steep).
Cost? $2 lemons, $2.50 strawberries, $7 Samuel Smith’s Organic Strawberry Fruit Beer
Overall success relative to expectations? 10 out of 10. Remember when I said I wanted to make this for my beer snob friends? Yeah, about that… I basically drank the entire pitcher myself. The taste of beer was present, but because it was fruity, it enhanced the flavor of the strawberries without making the drink bitter (or “blegh” as I sometimes refer to the taste of beer). My only complaint was that the lemon flavor was pretty absent, so I upped the lemon measurement in this revised recipe. I really can’t wait to make this again. Maaaaybe I’ll share.

Thoughts?

 
