that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

stuffed turkey burgers

Posted by culinaryneophyte on October 12, 2010

Given my deadline schedule at work, I’ve become the holiday section of Target — three months ahead on the calendar and confused about the seasons. A Thanksgiving event came across my desk today, and I shuddered thinking about what a Tgiving dinner a la culinaryneophyte might look like: pathetic potatoes, canned gravy, semi-liquid corn, brick o’ stuffing and a beautiful, slow-roasted turkey – the mainstay of the meal – replaced by whatever I could grill on my Foreman. I may have mastered mac ‘n cheese, but I’m a long way from hosting any sort of party where people RSVP ‘yes’ based on the quality of food. Someday, though; someday…

But, hey, speaking of turkey you can cook on the Forman [I know you love my segues], let’s make some stuffed turkey burgers (adapted from Playing House).

While I’m typically a fan of turkey burgers, I acknowledge the fact that ground turkey on its own is as flavorful as a mouthful of packing peanuts. This dish is not only really easy, but it’s got a nice Italian spin. The roasted red peppers and mozzarella cheese add moisture and tons of flavor.

I was pretty excited to make something with ‘stuffed’ in the name, because up until this point, the only thing I’ve been stuffing is my face. (I know you love my terrible jokes even more than my segues…)

♦1/2 lb. ground turkey breast
1/4 c. chopped roasted red peppers
1/4 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 tsp. salt
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Divide turkey into two even balls, then divide each of those into two patties. Add red peppers and cheese to one patty, then top with other patty and work the turkey around the edges to seal shut. Repeat with other patties. Season with salt and black pepper. Grill on Foreman for approximately six minutes. Makes two burgers.

Total time? 15 minutes.
Cost?
Wait for a sale on ground turkey; I got 1lb. for $1.99, and was able to freeze half for a recipe-in-waiting. The only other ingredients are needed in small quantities, which I had in my fridge; if you’re purchasing them for the first time, though, it’ll be $1.75 for a package of shredded cheese and about $5-6 for a jar of peppers.
Overall success relative to expectations? 8 out of 10. You can’t tell from the photo, but I bought a too-big roll for my tiny burger, so that was disappointing. I think I gave the burger a complex. Improvements for next time? Make patties thinner and wider and use more cheese.

5 Responses to “stuffed turkey burgers”

  1. Rach said

    Can you make these with some kind of spinach or tomato inside with the cheese? I’m not a red pepper fan, but I wonder if they would come out just as good if you used something else? Thoughts?

  2. Yeah, you could definitely use those. Spinach sounds really good — maybe with some mozzarella or feta cheese? Depends on your taste. Let me know if you try it!

  3. Rach said

    Made this for Paul last night with fresh mozzarella and spinach inside and he LOVED it. I also made a sundried tomato/garlic/basil aoli spread for the bun 🙂 Thanks for the idea.

  4. […] The last time I made turkey burgers, I addressed the lack of flavor and moisture ground turkey falls prey to if not properly dressed, but these burgers conquered that convention. Not only were they so moist I thought I did something wrong, but they packed an impressive amount of Asian flavor. […]

Thoughts?

 
