that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

I heart hoisin

Posted by culinaryneophyte on June 9, 2011

Yes, it’s been two weeks since my last post. I’d love to tell you I’ve been hiding out on some tropical island, or — at the very least — consumed by my culinary adventures, but no such luck; instead, I’ve been spending what feels like every waking moment working on a local soccer league I run during the summer. Now that the season is underway, I’m hoping to get back to all my unmade recipes and unwritten kitchen experiences, and I swear on my brand-new KitchenAid mixer that I won’t let another two weeks go by without a post. (And you better believe I’ll stick by it, because I love that thing more than anything else I own.)

To kick off my summer posting, I’m sharing a turkey burger sure to kick up your boring old barbecue: Asian turkey burgers with hoisin mayonnaise (adapted from Sugar Cooking).

The last time I made turkey burgers, I addressed the lack of flavor and moisture ground turkey falls prey to if not properly dressed, but these burgers conquered that convention. Not only were they so moist I thought I did something wrong, but they packed an impressive amount of Asian flavor.

Adding the hoisin sauce (basically a thicker, sweeter version of soy sauce) to mayonnaise was pure brilliance, and the reformed condiment was the star of the show, in my opinion. I kept the leftover mayo in my fridge and put it on chicken, sandwiches, ice cream… (Psych.)

Makes three to four burgers, depending on size
FOR BURGERS
1 pound ground turkey breast
1/4 c. plain bread crumbs
1 egg
2 tbs. hoisin sauce
2 scallions, sliced
1 tbs. ground ginger
2 cloves garlic, minced

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Form into patties. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Grill outside or on Foreman Grill for about five minutes on each side. Serve on bun with loads of hoisin mayonnaise.

FOR HOISIN MAYO
♦1/2 c. light mayonnaise
1 tbs. hoisin sauce
1/4 tsp. sesame oil

Combine all ingredients. Keep refrigerated after use.

Total time? 7 minutes prep, 10-12 minutes cook.
Cost? $2.50 ground turkey breast, $1 scallions, $1 bread crumbs, $2 hoisin sauce, $3 sesame oil, $1.50 burger buns.
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out of 10. I always have tempered expectations when I’m working with ground turkey, but these blew me away. The flavor was great, especially that mayonnaise. The only point lost here was for leftover value. I had a spare burger at the end of the meal, and attempted to reheat it the next day for lunch. Not so good, but that’s all the more reason to invite over some friends and share the love; it’d be a [hoi]sin not to, ehh?

3 Responses to “I heart hoisin”

  1. Tricia said

    This made my mouth water. Can I try them at the next BBQ?

  2. […] I heart hoisin […]

Thoughts?

 
