that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

pretzel baked chicken

Posted by culinaryneophyte on July 18, 2011

I never realized how difficult it must have been for my parents to plan weeknight dinners for three kids, especially when one of them was a picky P.I.T.A. (yup — me). They’d come home from work and have to present a meal of at least two components (main, side) in a relatively quick manner or their rambunctious rugrats would start whining.

Fortunately, I’ve already found a dish that’s going to be my go-to weeknight meal when I have kids: pretzel baked chicken (adapted from Mommie Cooks). It’s delicious, fast and the majority of the [inexpensive] ingredients are found in your pantry.

click for a closer look!

♦1 lb. package Perdue thin-cut boneless breasts (or tenderloins)
1/2 c. panko bread crumbs
1/2 c. Herr’s sourdough pretzels, crushed
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 c. flour
1/4 c. milk
1-1/2 tsp. spicy mustard
1/4 c. shredded cheddar

In a large bowl, combine bread crumbs, pretzels, pepper, garlic salt and powder. Place flour in a separate, smaller dish. In a third bowl, combine milk, mustard and cheese. Coat each chicken breast in flour, then milk/mustard/cheese mixture, then dry mix. (Try to get some of these cheese to stick to the chicken before the last dip. I also throw a little bit of cheese on top.) Bake at 350 degrees for 20-22 minutes.

Total time? 15 minutes prep, 20-22 minutes bake.
Cost? $4 chicken, $2 pretzels (you’ll have plenty left over for snacking), $2 shredded cheese, $1.50 panko
Overall success relative to expectations? 10 out 10. I had no idea this would be as good as it is when I first attempted it. I make this at least once a month for dinner, and my friends and family know I don’t like making the same thing twice, so that’s saying something. The chicken stays very juicy, and the garlicky pretzel coating sticks remarkably well to the chicken (which is a complaint I have with a lot of breaded chicken dishes).  My recipe would feed a family of three or four, but feel free to adapt to your crowd. The chicken pairs easily with rice, stuffing or veggies. Even the pickiest kid (or adult) will be begging for this meal again in no time.

2 Responses to “pretzel baked chicken”

  1. kat said

    Oh cool! What a great idea to use pretzels when there isn’t any panko around! Thanks for such a great find! Looks so tempting! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be so great 🙂

Thoughts?

 
