that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

we jammin’

Posted by culinaryneophyte on August 9, 2011

The day my Food Network Magazine arrives in the mailbox is quickly becoming my favorite day of the month, and one of my favorite parts is the “50” ideas inserts they include. Last issue was all about potato salads. This month? BACON. It’s a heart attack handbook, but I’m dying to start cooking through the list.

This sandwich isn’t on there, but I thought it’d be fun to pay homage to bacon in my own way with this bacon & jam panini, courtesy of my fridge. I had some bacon leftover from breakfast, plus some blueberry-pomegranate jam from a gift basket, so I thought I’d experiment. The end result was a pleasant surprise. If you’re a fan of salty and sweet — and cheap dishes that take under 10 minutes — give this a try.

♦Sandwich roll or crusty bread
2 slices of cheese (I used American, but feel free to get creative)
2 slices of bacon, cooked
2 tbl. jam (I used blueberry-pomegranate, but any jam should do)
Butter

Spread jam on both insides of the sandwich. Place bacon and cheese on sandwich. Spread a little bit of butter on the outsides and grill, either on the stove or in your trusty Foreman Grill until melty and crispy.

Total time? 10 minutes, shorter if you have bacon already cooked.
Cost? $2 jam, $2.50 bacon, $2 half-pound cheese can make 10 sandwiches, 65¢ roll x 10.
Overall success relative to expectations? 8 out 10. Easy. Cheap. Good. It doesn’t take much more to impress me (unless you had healthy in there, too, but that’s not a deal breaker). I ate this sandwich three days in a row for lunch. The only downside is having to have/make bacon for it, because making bacon is time consuming and terrifying to cook. (What? I’m afraid of the grease splatters!) You could use that already-made bacon, but I wouldn’t recommend it. Also, I doubt you’re going to have blueberry pomegranate jam sitting around, so experiment with different flavors. I think a raspberry or strawberry would be pretty good, too.

Thoughts?

 
