that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

cheers to the weekend

Posted by culinaryneophyte on September 2, 2011

But not kind of cheers Rhianna is singing about, or the kind of cheers Labor Day Weekend typically brings. I’ve got at least one fun BBQ dish lined up for you to bring to your weekend gathering, but in the meantime, I’m giving you this awesome chocolate-banana smoothie because — as I’m told — I’ve been neglecting my ‘drinks’ category count.

the best picture I could get before I inhaled this

I make this every time I’m in that weird I’m-going-to-eat-a-big-meal-in-a-few-hours-but-I-should-eat-something-now place. It’s incredibly cheap, delicious and filling, and you have absolutely no reason to not make it. Unless you don’t like chocolate. Or bananas. Or drinking your meals.

Helpful hint: Because you’re using only half a banana per smoothie, you can put the remaining portion in the fridge. If you put a banana at its preferred ripeness into the fridge, the peel will darken, but the fruit will remain at that ripeness for much longer than if you left it out on the counter.

♦1 c. milk
1/2 ripe banana
1-1/2 tsp. cocoa powder
♦Squirt of honey
Handful of ice

Drop everything in blender. Blend. Drink. Tough, I know.

Total time? 3 minutes.
Cost? You’re using such small amounts of everything that the following costs could yield about 16 smoothies: $3.50 gallon milk, 49¢/lb. bananas, $3 cocoa powder (won’t even make a dent in supply).
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out 10. This was so good, I gave myself a stomach ache from drinking it too fast. To kick this up a notch, add 2 tbs. of peanut butter.

Thoughts?

 
