that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

the mystery ingredient is…

Posted by culinaryneophyte on November 20, 2011

Nutella? Flour? Saltines? Broccoli??

I got a bevy of bizarre answers when I asked what two ingredients combined made the filling of the homemade Butterfingers I handed out this weekend. It was obvious peanut butter was involved, but each and every taste tester was absolutely stumped on the other mystery ingredient.

A few hints: You’ve definitely had it before… It’s melted… It’s something colorful… It’s something people buy in bulk at a particular time of the year and let sit around for months because it’s disgusting…

Candy corn is such a polarizing entity — so much so that I purposely handed out these treats without telling anyone what was inside so their feedback would be prejudice-free. The results? All positive, regardless of any longstanding candy corn convictions.

When I came across this recipe on The Family Kitchen, I thought, “There’s no way this comes out. Candy corn in a Butterfinger? Seriously??” But somehow it worked, and worked pretty well. If you couldn’t tell, I am not a fan of candy corn, but I’m always open to fun experiments. If you still have some of that Halloween staple, clean out your candy dish and give it a try.

*Big thanks to my girl, Liz, for donating her unused/unwanted candy corn to this effort. Check out her awesome cakes!*

slightly adapted
♦8 oz. candy corn (traditional orange, yellow and white for appropriate coloring)
1 c. creamy peanut butter
8 oz. milk chocolate candy coating (almond bark or Wilton melting wafers)

Place candy corn in microwave-safe bowl. Microwave for 90 seconds, mix and continue microwaving at 10-second intervals until candy is completely melted. Quickly mix in peanut butter, then spread mixture on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Once cooled, cut into candy bar-sized squares. Place tray in fridge for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, melt chocolate candy coating in a double broiler. Remove pieces from fridge, coat in chocolate and set to cool.

Total time? 5 minutes “cook,” 20 minutes set, 10 minutes dip.
Cost? $1 for bag of candy corn, $2 for peanut butter, $2 chocolate coating.
Overall success relative to expectations? 8 out of 10. I was amazed at how these turned out. Not only was I leery about the combination, but whilst melting and mixing, I won’t lie — I was pretty revolted by the smell. This had disaster written all over it until I cut off a little piece of the orange brick and it actually tasted like a Butterfinger. The consistency is a little different; they’re slightly tougher to chew and not as crispy, but on the plus side, you don’t get all that crap stuck in your teeth.

4 Responses to “the mystery ingredient is…”

  1. This picture and post make me hungry. I.love.candycorn

  2. Come visit me and I’ll give you some. 🙂

  3. Dessert Impulse said

    this is genius!! I love butterfinger and I would have NEVER thought candy corn had anything to do with it’s awesomeness!! Thanks for this post!! It makes me wanna get up and make some!!

  4. You should definitely try it out — it’s a conversation topic and a crowd pleaser! Thanks for reading 🙂

Thoughts?

 
