that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

whip it good

Posted by culinaryneophyte on December 10, 2011

The first couple in my group of close friends is getting married at the end of this month, and we’re all pretty jazzed for the celebration. Last weekend was the bachelor party, and while the boys were quoting the hell out of “The Hangover” and losing their money in AC, the girls got together for a quiet night in.

When the boys are around, the only adult beverage available is beer, and that gets old. Fast. But while the boys are away, the girls will play [with girly drink combinations that guys will like, but never be seen drinking]. Armed with my favorite Pinnacle spirit, I sought to make a fantastic martini. I call it: the White Whipped.

♦1 part Pinnacle Whipped Cream Vodka
2 parts white chocolate liqueur (Godiva or Merrys) 
1/2 part milk
1 tbs. chocolate syrup
1 tbs. hot chocolate mix (alt: cocoa powder, chocolate sprinkles or chocolate shavings) 

FOR GLASS
Pour chocolate syrup onto a small plate or round tupperware lid of similar size to your martini glass. On a separate plate, spread hot chocolate mix or other chocolate rimming substance. Carefully dip edges of martini glass into syrup, then into dry mix. Don’t get overzealous with the syrup or it will run down the sides of the glass and ruin the aesthetic.

FOR DRINK
Drop a few ice cubes into cocktail shaker. Add vodka, liqueur and milk, and shake. Strain into readied martini glass. (If you do not have a shaker — as I did not the night I made these — you can press two cups with the open ends pressed together, and separate to pour into glass.)

Total time? 5 minutes.
Cost? $15 Pinnacle Whipped Vodka, $11 Merrys White Chocolate, $2 milk, $1.99 chocolate syrup, $1 hot chocolate mix.
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out of 10. I’ve only had a few martinis in my time, and that’s mostly because they’re all so strong that the taste is unfavorable and I’m tipsy in three minutes. I just don’t understand the allure of drinking a huge glass of straight vodka with an olive in it (and it’s a green olive at that — bleck!). My little creation was perfect for me, though. Sweet, creamy and enough alcohol to keep me yapping all night, but not enough that I couldn’t drink more than one. If you do like strong martinis, nix the milk and you’ll get a nice, unadulterated punch of alcohol (which is what happened with Take One). I would have preferred chocolate shavings around the rim of the glass, but I was ill prepared and the cocoa mix was all I had. It’s still an important part of the drink, though, so don’t go bare glassed!

Thoughts?

 
