that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

it’s like, classy ham

Posted by culinaryneophyte on January 31, 2012

I’m super psyched for Super Bowl — Déjà BLUE all over again — and I’m trying to crank out some game-day snack posts for you to bring to the big party on Sunday (or eat alone in the other room while watching the Puppy Bowl).

I made this prosciutto bread for the Winter Classic last month. I was on a Food Network Magazine cooking kick (I adapted this recipe from their November issue) and happened to have some leftover prosciutto in the fridge.

This snack is incredibly easy to make; if you’re not hosting this weekend, you might even consider making this on the premises so it’s fresh out of the oven for the first quarter. This type of cured ham isn’t for everyone, though, so consider your party peers before you start stuffing. I’m not a traditional ham person because thick slabs of meat freak me out (joke away), but I’ll eat prosciutto because it’s thinly sliced and pairs well with Italian flavors. I like to call it “classy ham.” It makes me like it more.

prosciutto bread innards

♦1/4 lb. prosciutto 
1/2 c. fresh mozzarella cheese (shredded is fine)
11-oz. package of Pilsbury Crusty French Loaf refrigerated bread
Italian seasonings
Olive oil

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Completely roll out dough, then add layers of prosciutto, mozzarella and Italian seasonings. Roll dough into a log, pulling and twisting it into a ring by connecting ends. Drizzle olive oil on top and sprinkle with more Italian seasonings. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, add more olive oil and bake for five more minutes. (I also threw a bit of cheese on top for fun.) Slice and serve. Makes 10-12 slices.

Total time? 5 minutes prep, 25 minutes bake.
Cost? $3 for prosciutto (on sale for $9.99/lb), $3.19 for Pilsbury bread, $3 mozzarella.
Overall success relative to expectations? 7 out 10. I love stromboli-like stuffed breads, and I was really excited to try this. I added cheese to the FN Magazine recipe because I didn’t think the prosciutto could stand alone. Maybe it was the kind I used, but I found the prosciutto flavor a little more prevalent than I would have liked. Next time I try this, I’ll consider adding some arugula or basil to add another level of flavor.

Thoughts?

 
