that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

“GM Diet”: Day Four

Posted by culinaryneophyte on October 10, 2012

I am blogging my experience in completing the “GM Diet” — incorrectly labeled as such as part of an apparent hoax, but still effective as reported by many across the Internet. Click here to read my intro/explanation.

Ahh, Day Four. The day I’ve been longing for. Bananas and milk day! Yes, that’s right. This day of the diet consists solely of bananas, milk and the special cabbage soup. Anyone who knows me/has seen me out doing physical activity knows I live off of bananas, so I was stoked for Day Four.

What I Ate
Eating bananas and milk alone probably would have been fine for me, but I had some fun with these ingredients. For breakfast, I chopped up a banana, heated it on the frying pan with just a little pure vanilla (no added sugar!), dropped it in a bowl and covered it with light soy milk. It was just like hot cereal, but not cereal. I’ll definitely take this meal with me after the diet is done.

Even easier than the hot “cereal” was the smoothie I made. Just one banana, light soy milk, ice and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I hoarded that in the fridge at work and had it for a late-morning snack. Lunch was a small serving of cabbage soup, which was nice to break up the monotony. Dinner was another round of hot “cereal” and I had two plain old bananas for snacks.

A note for anyone doing this diet: I read others’ accounts, and a few people said they didn’t realize they should be drinking a certain type of milk. It is recommended that you drink only skim milk during Day Four, but because I prefer non-dairy milks, I opted for light soy milk.

Challenges
Day Four rivals Day One for my favorite day so far. Really the only challenge I faced was a result of my own stupidity: My bananas were a little mushy and thus, splitting at the seams. I must not have had the soup Tupperware locked, and a decent amount spilled into my lunch bag… and sort of saturated my mushy bananas. I love bananas, but not enough to weather that soup storm. Nothing an emergency trip to Wawa couldn’t fix (but I grumbled paying the price of a pound for one single banana, grr).

The only other gripe on Day Four was having dinner with my family. They feasted on piping hot white pizza with spinach and garlic (mouth watering even as I type it) and I ate banana mush and milk. Still, I never felt terribly hungry or unsatisfied throughout the day, so I’d say this one gets a thumbs up.

The Weigh-In
I gained a little weight back on Day Four, but I read that’s normal. Still, this was the first day I saw a change, specifically in my face. Whether it was apparent to others or even legit at all, it gave me a morale boost to forge on.

At the Day Three weigh-in, I had gained 1.6 lbs from the day before — down 3.8 lbs total.

GM Diet: Am I Really Doing This?
GM Diet: Day One
GM Diet: Day Two
GM Diet: Day Three
GM Diet: Day Four
GM Diet: Day Five
GM Diet: Day Six
GM Diet: Day Seven
GM Diet: Drum roll, please…

7 Responses to ““GM Diet”: Day Four”

  1. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  2. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  3. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  4. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  5. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  6. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

  7. […] “GM Diet”: Day Four […]

Thoughts?

 
