that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

“GM Diet”: Day Five

Posted by culinaryneophyte on October 11, 2012

I am blogging my experience in completing the “GM Diet” — incorrectly labeled as such as part of an apparent hoax, but still effective as reported by many across the Internet. Click here to read my intro/explanation.

The guide I’m following says the cravings should subside by Day Five. That was true for me, but not in a good way. This day consists of two servings of lean ground beef and tomatoes. (The guide suggested a meal that included cucumbers, so I thought it permissible to add cucumbers to the list.) By noon, I felt so nauseous that I stopped eating. So…yeah, the cravings went away, but so did my entire appetite.

What I Ate
The night before, I prepared food to take to work with me: lean ground beef and chopped tomatoes. I also sliced cucumbers and tomatoes and dressed them in a little balsamic vinegar with basil. The latter served as my breakfast; the former was supposed to serve as my lunch, but I’ll get to that in a minute. I also had a serving of brown rice with half a tablespoon of low sodium soy sauce (also explained below.)

Challenges
Maybe it’s because in “real life,” I eat red meat about three times a year and eating beef after an absence of all meat (and everything else that wasn’t fruit, vegetables or milk) confused my body. In any event, I felt lightheaded and on the verge of ralphing for the greater part of my workday. I couldn’t stomach the thought of eating more than four bites of what I had prepared.

When I got home, I was told I looked white and on the brink of passing out. I quickly did some research on how to do the GM Diet if you’re a vegetarian. Apparently you’re allowed to have brown rice in place of the beef, so I started boiling some for dinner. In an effort to stay conscious, I “cheated” and had a rice cake. It tasted like a dream. Like a crispy, flavorless dream. (It was not the flavor-packed Quakes, FYI). I then deemed rice cakes an appropriate “emergency food” for the diet. If that’s the only cheating I do (and it will be), I will still give myself a passing grade.

The brown rice was just as flavorless as the rice cake, so I added a teensy bit of soy sauce to make it palatable. It was made even less appetizing by the fact that my grandmother was visiting and on the menu were crab cakes, mashed yams and bacon-wrapped scallops. Yeah, that was fun.

The Weigh-In
I gained even more weight back from the day before, despite barely eating anything. Still, I noticed more of a change in my body, specifically around my waist, so that was encouraging.

On the Day Five weigh-in, I had gained 1.4 lbs from the day before — down 2.4 lbs total.

GM Diet: Am I Really Doing This?
GM Diet: Day One
GM Diet: Day Two
GM Diet: Day Three
GM Diet: Day Four
GM Diet: Day Five
GM Diet: Day Six
GM Diet: Day Seven
GM Diet: Drum roll, please…

9 Responses to ““GM Diet”: Day Five”

  1. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  2. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  3. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  4. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  5. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  6. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  7. […] “GM Diet”: Day Five […]

  8. Christina said

    Im on day 5 and i had 4 tomatoes i could not stand to eat all 6 so not sure what that will do but I did eat almost 20 ounces of lean meat. I am down 4 pounds and hoping to be down again but we will see. I hope i dont gain id be pretty disappointed. Over all though i feel better on this diet then any other one i have tried and even have more energy! 🙂

    • Congrats on making it this far! Day 5 was certainly a struggle for me, but the fruits and veggies days were more my style. It’s great to hear you have more energy. Once the seven days are up, if you continue eating “clean,” you should see even more results. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Thoughts?

 
