that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

I love you, sweet “potatoe”

Posted by culinaryneophyte on January 25, 2013

NEW: I’m now including calorie counts [as best I can] for my recipes. 

As I’ve mentioned a few times in my last few months of sporadic posting, my housing situation had been quite a mess. Long story short, I ended my lease in anticipation of moving into my new home within two to three weeks. That fell through. Then the next thing fell through. Then the next one got delayed. Finally, three months later, I found myself in my new home. A new home with a much bigger kitchen than I had previously. Of course, the kitchen was the first thing I unpacked. (Made for some interesting outfit choices those first few days.) Now, I’m cranking out new dishes on the reg, and hoping to finally get back to posting at a consistent pace.

The first official meal (meaning one that wasn’t a Morningstar Chik’n Patty or a bowl of cereal) was this sweet potato tahini veggie burger. Coincidentally, in October, I got a strange text message from a number I didn’t recognize saying, “I love you, sweet potatoe.” The first time, I laughed it off (whilst cringing over the misspelling), but just before I closed on my new place, I started getting these “sweet potatoe” text messages more often. I even got a family Christmas photo text. (Precious!) The sender wasn’t bent out of shape I wasn’t responding — and presumably, if they were using that pleasantry to address a significant other, they would expect some sort of reciprocation — so I’m assuming it was just a text here and there that got bounced around in the mobilesphere and found its way to my phone. In any event, this post is dedicated to my new kitchen and my “sweet potatoe” lover, wherever you are.

sweetpotatoburger

(a little quinoa photobomb there)

I slightly modified this recipe from Healthy Happy Life. Tahini is fairly expensive and, quite honestly, I couldn’t find it in the supermarket, so decided to make my own (recipe below). And FYI for anyone interested in making the purchase, a week later, I discovered it in the peanut butter section (what?!).

Homemade Tahini – Yields slightly more than enough for this recipe
♦1/4 c. sesame seeds
♦1 tb. olive oil

Toast sesame seeds in a pot over low heat for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and cool. In a food processor, combine seeds and olive oil. Pulse until thick paste forms. Add more olive oil as needed until desired consistency is reached. (Note: I used an immersion blender and made a huge mess. It works, but be sure the shield your eyes from airborne seeds.)

making tahini

Making your own tahini is easy and much cheaper than buying it at the store.

Sweet Potato Tahini Veggie Burgers With Avocado – Makes four large patties
♦1 can of cannellini white beans, drained
1 medium sweet potato, peeled and mashed (1 cup)
1 tb. tahini
1 tsp. agave nectar
1/2 tsp. lemon pepper
1/8 c. flour
Dash cayenne pepper and black pepper
1/4-1/2 c. panko bread crumbs
Spoonful of oil
Burger buns
Avocado

Bake the sweet potato. (I ran out of patience before the potato was cooked all the way through. You can also microwave the potato for three minutes to soften.) Mash potato into large bowl. Add beans and mash together. Add tahini, agave, flour and seasonings. Heat 1/2 tb. oil over high heat. Form either four large patties or eight smaller patties and coat with Panko crumbs. (The patties will be fairly mushy, but do your best to keep it together.) Brown patty on both sides — a minute or less) and drain on paper towel. Add to bun and top with avocado and/or other fixings.

Calories? 203 calories including bun and avocado.
Total time?
 30 minutes to prep, cook and assemble.
Cost? $1.99 hamburger buns, $1 beans, $1 sweet potato, $9.99 tahini (or minimal cost to make at home if you have sesame seeds), $1 avocado.
Overall success relative to expectations? 7 out 10. Based on the consistency going into the pan, I was a little worried this would be a mess, but they came out decently. The panko is a must, and I really preferred the burger with avocado. These things come out huge, so it might not be a bad idea to go the eight small patty route. (I ended up cutting each one in half and eating them for basically every meal throughout the week.)

Thoughts?

 
