that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

naughty & nice Valentine’s

Posted by culinaryneophyte on February 14, 2013

Valentine’s Day is pretty polarizing. You have the friends posting 50-line odes to their significant others on Facebook or getting engaged in some grandiose fashion (which is basically everyone I know), or you have the people touting their Cupid contempt and blaming Hallmark for ruining an otherwise perfectly average February day. I’m pretty indifferent, and that’s not because Valentine’s Day hasn’t treated me well; I’m just too busy these days to feel one way or another about it.

Still, I had the urge to bake up a what could be considered a Valentine’s Day treat last night, though it was mostly motivated by the abundance of unused strawberries in my fridge. Thus, I present my “naughty and nice” strawberry doughnuts. Half are glazed and half are plain, but all are baked and made with organic, good-for-you stuff so you don’t have to feel as guilty cramming one in your mouth.  (Well, the sprinkles aren’t organic nor good for you, but hey, they’re pretty.)

Baked Whole Wheat Strawberry Doughnuts

I bought a doughnut sheet specifically for this recipe, but if you’re unwilling (or too lazy, as I almost found myself to be), I imagine you can bake these in a muffin tin and make doughnut holes instead. You can choose to go glazed or unglazed, but the doughnuts turned out so much prettier when they were decorated, so I did both. I’m not a sweets person and preferred the plain, but sweet treats are as synonymous with Valentine’s Day as acts of love and gag-inducing Facebook posts, so don’t feel bad indulging.

Adapted from iVillage
1 c. whole wheat flour
1/3 c. organic sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1/3 c. vanilla almond milk
1 egg
1 tbs. unsalted butter, melted
1/3 c. diced strawberries
1 tbs. agave nectar
2 tsp. organize strawberry preserves

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray doughnut sheet with cooking spray and set aside. In a small bowl, combine diced strawberries, agave nectar and preserves. In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add milk, egg and melted butter, and stir until just combined. Add strawberry mixture and stir. Fill doughnut wells 2/3 of the way.  (Batter is enough for six doughnuts.) Bake for 7-9 minutes. Allow doughnuts to cool for at least five minutes before removing from pan, and longer if glazing.

Glaze
♦1.5 c. powdered sugar
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. cold vanilla almond milk
Pinch of salt
Sprinkles (optional)

Whisk all ingredients together. For a thicker glaze, add more powdered sugar. Set out a piece of parchment paper. Carefully dip one side of doughnut in glaze. For a “clean” glazed look, lift, let excess drip off, then twist and turn wrist to keep glaze on top of doughnut. If you don’t care about being messy (like me), dip, twist and let that excess drip where it may.  Place on parchment paper and add sprinkles if you so choose. If you want a deeper looking glaze, dip twice, then decorate.

Calories? 224 calories per plain doughnut; about 310 calories per glazed.
Total time?
7 minutes cook, 10 minutes prep
Cost? $3.99 whole wheat flour,  $3.99 organic sugar, $2 agave nectar, $2.99 almond milk, $1.99 strawberries ($9.49 doughnut pan)
Overall success relative to expectations? 6 out 10. Like I said, sweets aren’t my thing, and I very rarely eat doughnuts, but if I’m going to, I think I’d just prefer a fatty, bad-for-you doughnut from DD or Jack’s (this awesome little place in Laurel Springs, N.J.) These were a lot easier to make than I imagined, so if you’re looking for a healthier alternative and/or an edible Valentine’s Day gift, give ’em a go.

Thoughts?

 
