that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

sometimes you feel like a [health] nut

Posted by culinaryneophyte on June 17, 2013

almond joy smoothie

For some reason, I had the new [terrible] “Family Feud” on in the background one day, and I overheard a round regarding the least used kitchen appliance. Survey says: the blender. Are you kidding me? I use my blender, like, three times a day. I guess I’m smoothie obsessed? For all you inactive blender owners out there, give this Almond Joy smoothie a go and maybe you’ll see the light.

It’s not the lowest-calorie thing, so treat is at a treat, but I’ve provided the “clean” version so you can at least feel better that there’s nothing processed in it. You can make substitutions if you don’t have some of these on hand or want an extra-indulgent treat (whole milk/ice cream, sugar, milk chocolate, actual pieces of Almond Joy…)

“Clean Eating” Almond Joy Smoothie
Makes one big serving

♦3/4 c. coconut milk
4 ice cubes
3 large pitted dates
♦1.5 tb. almond butter
1 tb. of coconut nectar
shredded coconut
carob chips (or dark chocolate chips)
slivered almonds

Combine all ingredients in the trusty blender (use your judgment on the last three — depends on what sort of texture you’re looking for).

Calories? About 400+ calories
Total time? 5 minutes
Cost? $3.99 coconut milk, $2.99 dates, $6.99 almond butter.
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out of 10. I can’t say this smoothie tastes just like an Almond Joy, but I love how the flavor of the almond butter comes through. If you’re not a texture person with your smoothies, this may not be for you; the last sip is my favorite — a big gulp of chopped dates, carob chips and shredded coconut. Obviously this isn’t an everyday sort of thing, but this smoothie has become one of my favorite mid-week, warm-weather treats.

Thoughts?

 
