that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

it’s like a heat wave!

Posted by culinaryneophyte on July 20, 2013

Remember a few weeks ago when it wouldn’t stop raining, like, every day on the east coast? I would gladly take that over the however-many straight days of 100+ degree temperatures we’ve had this week. It really hasn’t seemed that bad to me, though, mostly because I spent the greater portion of the summer refusing to turn on my AC. The thermostat in my condo would sit anywhere between 85-87 degrees, and I grew accustom to the high heat. The only thing I can’t get used to is basically driving into a tree every day after eight hours of work because I can’t touch the steering wheel without leaving welts on my hands. I am really considering trying that ‘baking chocolate chip cookies on the dashboard’ thing. Worst-case scenario: The cookie aroma forces out the gym locker smell that has overtaken my car thanks to multiple sweaty sporting events per week.

mocha coconut frapp cleanAs a means to cool down one night, I tried this mocha coconut “Frappuccino” I saw on The Gracious Pantry (one of my favorite clean eating sites). I think I enjoyed this even more because I served it in a mason jar. There’s just something about a mason jar that makes you feel shnazzy (…snazzy? …schnazzy?). The flavor is on the mild side because you don’t have all the processed sugar involved, which was perfect for me. It’s just a nice, frothy, COLD treat that doesn’t take long to make and won’t hurt your diet (like a “real” Starbucks beverage would). You can brew coffee in advance and keep it in your fridge to make this even more convenient.

slightly adapted from The Gracious Pantry
makes 1 drink
♦1 c. brewed coffee, chilled
2 tsp. unsweetened coconut powder
1/2 c. coconut milk (I used Silk)
♦4 tsp. coconut nectar (or 3 tbs. honey)
3 c. ice cubes

Blend all ingredients together in blender. Serve immediately.

Calories? About 170 calories
Total time? 5  minutes
Cost? $3.69 coconut milk, $7.49 coconut nectar
Overall success relative to expectations? 9 out of 10. I only deducted points because the end of the drink becomes almost completely ice slush with no flavor if you drink it too fast, which is exactly what I did because it was so good (and because it was 100 degrees in my house and I was trying to bring down my body temperature). Quite the conundrum. If you’re patient and can slowly enjoy this frothy treat, then 10/10 for sure.

Thoughts?

 
