that's forking good

adventures in a culinary neophyte's kitchen

please sir – I’d like s’more

Posted by culinaryneophyte on September 12, 2011

Many moons ago (or maybe just five months), I was an all-out oatmeal hater, but as you may recall, an early morning encounter with a bowl of pb&j oatmeal had me singing a different tune, and I haven’t looked back since.

While pb&j oatmeal is still my No. 1 favorite breakfast at home, I still like to experiment with different oatmeal variations from time to time, so I give you: s’more oatmeal. No campfire needed.

♦1/2 c. oats (NOT instant!)
1/2 c. water
1/2 c. milk
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. sugar
1/2 banana, sliced
2 sheets of graham crackers, crushed
1/4 c. chocolate chipshandful of mini marshmallows

Over medium heat, cook oats, water, milk, salt and sugar. When mixture begins to bubble, add banana and mash/mix until dissolved. Place oatmeal mixture in small bowl, and immediately top with marshmallow and chocolate chips. Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs over mixture, and serve immediately.

Total time? 10 minutes.
Cost? $2.50 bag of chocolate chips, $1 bag of marshmallows, $2 cannister of oats, and 20¢ per banana.
Overall success relative to expectations? 7 out of 10. I absolutely loved the texture the graham cracker crumbs brought to the dish, but if you don’t eat it immediately, the crumbs get swallowed into the wet mixture and fade into oblivion. I enjoyed the novelty of s’mores for breakfast, but I’m not really a sweets person, and — aside from the fiber found in the oats — there’s not much nutritional value here. If that’s not an issue for you, then by all means, have s’more. (Yes, it is exhausting being this lame.)

One Response to “please sir – I’d like s’more”

  1. Rach said

    I love how creative you are with your oatmeal! Mashing a banana into it is a great idea. I usually just do the boring old oatmeal with splenda/a dash of brown sugar. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

Thoughts?

 
